Certificate Programs

Minister certifications for professional development

From minister certification and black church studies, to spiritual direction certification and trauma counseling training, our many programs are designed for ministers and pastors seeking professional development and continuing education. Built upon our values of spirituality and social justice, SFTS continues to offer an innovative curriculum where you’ll receive a top-rated education to encounter God more meaningfully and engage the world more deeply.

Certificate in Trauma & Spiritual Care

The Certificate in Trauma & Spiritual Care provides working professionals in both clinical and pastoral settings with the skills to incorporate spirituality into the healing counsel they provide to trauma victims. This program highlights the spiritual understandings of trauma and healing, giving caregivers a more comprehensive set of skills to help trauma victims recover from their experiences.

Certificate in Black Church Studies

The Certificate in Black Church Studies is presented by the H. Eugene Farlough Program of San Francisco Theological Seminary. Modules/Classes consist of 12 contact hours and are held on Saturday mornings. This certificate is for highly motivated individuals specifically interested in African American studies who are already in ministry and desirous of seminary training. Admission to this certificate does not require an undergraduate college degree.

Certificate in Ministry Studies

This certificate is awarded upon completion of eight semester courses and may be tailored to fulfill the education requirements for the position of Commissioned Ruling Elders in the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). This flexible program also may allow you to follow your interest in theological study and may be adapted to the specialized needs of individuals or groups.

Certificate in Worship Leadership

A series of four classes are offered each calendar year, with 24 total contact hours. Certification is awarded upon completion of one of each class offered in the four different areas of worship: Music, Spoken Word, Prayer Experiences, and Liturgical Environment.