Alumni Council

History of the Alumni Council

To support the SFTS mission, the very first SFTS Alumni Council was formed in 1881. The commission of the early SFTS Alumni Council was to come together “in order to continue the earthly ministry of Jesus Christ, and in support of the mission of SFTS to educate students in spiritual formation, critical theological reflection, and the skills and arts of ministry.”

The current SFTS Alumni Council is an energetic organization committed to engaging our alumni in life-long learning, faithfulness, fellowship and community. The council is planning a range of events and local chapters in your area in order that we can continue to support each other and SFTS in our shared mission and vision.

The San Francisco Theological Seminary Alumni Council

The Alumni Council is a group of dedicated alums whose purpose is to further relations between alumni, the Seminary, and the greater Church. The Alumni Council always loves to hear from fellow alumni!

The Council is available to discuss your ideas, questions, and suggestions for the life of the Seminary and the alumni community. The Council enjoys the chance to correspond with you and listen closely to your hopes and concerns for SFTS.

Class of 2016
Margaret Boles (M.Div. 1998), Board of Trustees Representative, 
Palo Alto, CA | 
semfemmb@aol.com
Jack Hodges (M.Div. 1965), 
Lake Oswego, OR | 
jhodges@bcdemail.com
William N. Johnson (M.Div. 1961, MA Theology 1965, D.Min. 1975), Palm Desert, CA | drwnj57@aol.com
Sam Roberts (M.Div. 2006), 
Highland, CA | 
1annointed1@gmail.com
Scott Schaefer (M.Div. 1987), 
Sequim, WA | 
scott@nikola.com

Class of 2017
Jefferson Beeker (M.Div. 2012)
, Studio City, CA | 
jefferson@jeffersonbeeker.com
Byron Bland (M.Div. 1974), 
Palo Alto, CA
 | bland@law.stanford.edu
Cynthia Harvey (M.Div. 1991)
, Omaha, NE
 | crharv@aol.com
Yung Me Morris (M.Div. 2014), 
Pleasant Hill, CA | 
ymsmorris@gmail.com

Class of 2018
Tom Coop (M.Div. 1997), San Jose, CA | stoyltr2@aol.com
Janet DeWater (M.Div. 1987), Redmond, WA | jjdewater@msn.com
David Dobler (Master of Arts 1980), 
Juneau, AK | 
dldobler@yahoo.com
Joseph Kang
 (Doctor of the Science of Theology 1981), Pasadena, CA
 | kang65@gmail.com
Kikanza Nuri-Robins (M.Div. 1999, DASD 1999), 
Beverly Hills, CA | kjnuri@robinsgroup.org

Student Representatives, 2015-2016
Lora East (M.Div 2016), San Anselmo, CA | lora136@hotmail.com
Brooklynn Smith (Current M.Div. student), San Anselmo, CA | bsmith@students.sfts.edu

Special Advisor – Special Projects
John Harris (M.Div. 1971), Santa Barbara, CA | johncoventry@me.com

Special Advisor – Alumni Mosaic
Herb Valentine (B.Div 1960), 
Perryville, MD
 | herbertvalentine@aol.com

SFTS Staff

Alumni Relations
Jerry Van Marter, Louisville, KY | jvanmarter@sfts.edu

Advancement – Administrative Assistant
Su Hanson, San Anselmo, CA | shanson@sfts.edu