Alumni Council

History of the Alumni Council

To support the SFTS mission, the very first SFTS Alumni Council was formed in 1881. The commission of the early SFTS Alumni Council was to come together “in order to continue the earthly ministry of Jesus Christ, and in support of the mission of SFTS to educate students in spiritual formation, critical theological reflection, and the skills and arts of ministry.”

The current SFTS Alumni Council is an energetic organization committed to engaging our alumni in life-long learning, faithfulness, fellowship and community. The council is planning a range of events and local chapters in your area in order that we can continue to support each other and SFTS in our shared mission and vision.

The San Francisco Theological Seminary Alumni Council

The Alumni Council is a group of dedicated alums whose purpose is to further relations between alumni, the Seminary, and the greater Church. The Alumni Council always loves to hear from fellow alumni!

The Council is available to discuss your ideas, questions, and suggestions for the life of the Seminary and the alumni community. The Council enjoys the chance to correspond with you and listen closely to your hopes and concerns for SFTS.

President
Kikanza Nuri-Robins (MDiv 1999, DASD 1999), 
Beverly Hills, CA | kjnuri@robinsgroup.org

Vice President
David Dobler (Master of Arts 1980), 
Juneau, AK | 
dldobler@yahoo.com

Class of 2017
Jefferson Beeker (MDiv 2012)
, Studio City, CA | 
jefferson@jeffersonbeeker.com
Lora East (MDiv 2016, GTU MA 2017, DASD 2017), The Woodlands, TX | lora136@hotmail.com
Cynthia Harvey (MDiv 1991)
, Omaha, NE
 | crharv@aol.com
Yung Me Morris (MDiv 2014), 
Pleasant Hill, CA | 
ymsmorris@gmail.com
Linda Powers, Napa, CA | revlsp@aol.com

Class of 2018
Tom Coop (MDiv 1997), San Jose, CA | stoyltr2@aol.com
Janet DeWater (MDiv 1987), Redmond, WA | jjdewater@msn.com
Joseph Kang
 (Doctor of the Science of Theology 1981), Pasadena, CA
 | kang65@gmail.com
Kikanza Nuri-Robins (MDiv 1999, DASD 1999), 
Beverly Hills, CA | kjnuri@robinsgroup.org
David Dobler (Master of Arts 1980), 
Juneau, AK | 
dldobler@yahoo.com

Class of 2019

Beth Hessel, Elkins Park, PA | beshal@juno.com
William N. Johnson (MDiv 1961, MA Theology 1965, DMin 1975), Palm Desert, CA | drwnj57@aol.com
Scott Schaefer (MDiv 1987), 
Sequim, WA | 
scott@nikola.com
Brenda Threatt, Pasadena, CA | bthreatt@usvetsinc.org
Lyn Webber, Asheville, NC | rebbewnnyl@hotmail.com

Special Advisor – Special Projects
John Harris (MDiv 1971), Santa Barbara, CA | johncoventry@me.com

Special Advisor – Alumni Mosaic
Herb Valentine (BDiv 1960), 
Perryville, MD
 | herbertvalentine@aol.com

SFTS Staff

Dr. Dave Behrs, VP for Enrollment Management/Interim Director of Alumni Relations
415.451.2802 | dbehrs@sfts.edu

Walter Collins, VP of Advancement
415.451.2822 | wcollins@sfts.edu

Su Hanson, Administrative Assistant
415.451.2834 | shanson@sfts.edu